Access to the full text of the entire article is only available to members of institutions that have purchased access. If you belong to such an institution, please log in or find out more about how to order.


White Savages Group By Soo-hyun, Mok

DOI: 10.4324/9781135000356-REM1449-1
Published: 02/05/2017
Retrieved: 18 May 2024, from


The White Savages Group (Baek-man Heo) was founded in 1930 when Kim Yong-jun (1904–1967) published his manifesto “Upon Founding the White Savages Group” in a major Korean newspaper. Along with Kim Yong-jun, the White Savages Group was organized by Kil Jin-seop (1907–?), Ku Bon-ung (1906–1953), Lee Ma-dong (1906–1980), and Kim Ung-jin (1907–1977), all of whom were Western-style painters who had studied in Tokyo.

content locked



Article DOI



Citing this article:

Soo-hyun, Mok. White Savages Group. Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism, Taylor and Francis,

Copyright © 2016-2024 Routledge.