Access to the full text of the entire article is only available to members of institutions that have purchased access. If you belong to such an institution, please log in or find out more about how to order.


The Vienna Circle By Murray, Peter

DOI: 10.4324/9781135000356-REM1718-1
Published: 01/10/2017
Retrieved: 23 January 2021, from


In 1922 Moritz Schlick (1882–1936) transformed the Verein Ernst Mach (Ernst Mach Society), a weekly reading group concerned with logical positivism, into an international assembly of academics known as der Weiner Kreis, or the Vienna Circle, which responded to recent developments within analytic philosophy by leading thinkers Bertrand Russell (1872–1970), Gottlob Frege (1848–1925) and Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889–1951). Early members included Rudolf Carnap (1891–1970), Kurt Gödel (1906–1978) and Otto Neurath (1882–1945). In 1929, Neurath published Wissenschaftliche Weltauffassung. Der Wiener Kreis (The Scientific Conception of the World: The Vienna Circle), a pamphlet delineating the group’s rejection of metaphysics in favour of a scientific worldview predicated upon empirical phenomena.

content locked



Article DOI



Citing this article:

Murray, Peter. "The Vienna Circle." The Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism. : Taylor and Francis, 2016. Date Accessed 23 Jan. 2021 doi:10.4324/9781135000356-REM1718-1

Copyright © 2016-2021 Routledge.