Access to the full text of the entire article is only available to members of institutions that have purchased access. If you belong to such an institution, please log in or find out more about how to order.


The Introspectivists By Millar Usiskin, Jana

DOI: 10.4324/9781135000356-REM1733-1
Published: 01/10/2017
Retrieved: 02 June 2023, from


The Introspectivists (Inzikhistn), the first group of modernist Yiddish poets in America, were part of the Jewish American Renaissance and flourished in the years following the First World War. The movement was headed by Jacob Glatstein (Yankev Glatshteyn), Aaron Glanz-Leyeles and N. B. Minkoff, and later by Yehuda Leyb Teller. The Introspective poets rejected traditional, highly-stylized forms, instead employing narrative fragmentation, stream-of-consciousness, free verse, word play and neologisms and irony in their work. Glatstein, Leyeles, and Minkoff formalized the movement’s aesthetic principles in the first anthology of Introspectivist poetry, In Zikh (‘In Oneself’).

content locked



Article DOI



Citing this article:

Millar Usiskin, Jana. "The Introspectivists." The Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism. : Taylor and Francis, 2016. Date Accessed 2 Jun. 2023 doi:10.4324/9781135000356-REM1733-1

Copyright © 2016-2023 Routledge.