Access to the full text of the entire article is only available to members of institutions that have purchased access. If you belong to such an institution, please log in or find out more about how to order.


Eight, The By Moseman, Eleanor; Sawicki, Nicholas

DOI: 10.4324/0123456789-REM1913-1
Published: 26/04/2018
Retrieved: 23 July 2024, from


Known in Czech as Osma and in German as Die Acht, the Eight was an artistic association at the forefront of the modern movement in Prague in the early twentieth century. It made a pivotal contribution to the development of post-impressionism, expressionism, and cubism in the Czech lands of the Habsburg Empire (Bohemia and Moravia), and first garnered attention through its exhibitions of 1907 and 1908. Bilingual in composition, the group included the artists Vincenc Beneš, Friedrich Feigl, Emil Filla, Max Horb, Otakar Kubín, Bohumil Kubišta, Willi Nowak, Emil Artur Pittermann-Longen, Antonín Procházka, and Linka Procházková.

content locked



Article DOI



Related Searches

Citing this article:

Moseman, Eleanor and Nicholas Sawicki. Eight, The. Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism, Taylor and Francis,

Copyright © 2016-2024 Routledge.