Access to the full text of the entire article is only available to members of institutions that have purchased access. If you belong to such an institution, please log in or find out more about how to order.


Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich By Bangert, Daniel

DOI: 10.4324/9781135000356-REM557-1
Published: 09/05/2016
Retrieved: 17 April 2024, from


The Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich (DTÖ) [Monuments of Music in Austria] is a series of critical editions of historical music, primarily by composers born or working in Austria during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries. The DTÖ was an initiative of the musicologist Guido Adler who served as its founding General Editor.

In 1888, the musicologist Guido Adler petitioned the Austrian Ministry of Culture and Education for the publication of a series of editions of historical music (Monumenta Historiae Musices), a project that was to become the DTÖ. Adler became General Editor of the series at a meeting of the Gesellschaft zur Herausgabe von Denkmälern der Tonkunst in Österreich (Society for the Publication of Monuments of Music in Austria) held in 1893, and the first volume of the series appeared in 1894 (Masses by Johann Joseph Fux). Adler served as General Editor in 1893–1938; others who have held the position include Erich Schenk (1939–74) and Othmar Wessely (1974–98). Music critic Eduard Hanslick served as the first president of the DTÖ Society (1893–97) and members of the editorial board have included prominent composers such as Johannes Brahms, Gustav Mahler, and Richard Strauss. The journal Studien zur Musikwissenschaft: Beihefte der Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich Studies in Musicology: Supplements of the DTÖ was founded in 1913.

content locked



Article DOI



Related Searches

Citing this article:

Bangert, Daniel. Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Österreich . Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism, Taylor and Francis,

Copyright © 2016-2024 Routledge.