Access to the full text of the entire article is only available to members of institutions that have purchased access. If you belong to such an institution, please log in or find out more about how to order.


Carrillo (Trujillo), Julián (1875--1965) By Madrid, Alejandro L.

DOI: 10.4324/9781135000356-REM1313-1
Published: 01/10/2016
Retrieved: 02 June 2023, from


Julián Carrillo is recognized as one of the first microtonal composers in the Western art music tradition. His experiments with microtones (intervals smaller than the half tone), which he called Sonido 13 (The Thirteenth Sound), were an attempt to expand the melodic possibilities of the Western art music tradition’s language; the first work to crystalize these ideas was Predulio a Colón (1925). He composed music in quarter-, eighth-, and sixteenth-tones and built special instruments that could play these intervals. He also patented a series of pianos that could play third-, quarter-, fifth-, sixth-, seventh-, eight-, ninth-, tenth- eleventh-, twelfth-, thirteenth-, fourteenth-, fifteenth-, and sixteenth-tones. He developed a numerical system of music notation in order to deal with the increasing number of pitches in the scales generated by these subdivisions of the half tone. Carrillo also contemplated the possibilities that the systematic serialization of these new scales might have on theorizing rhythm.

content locked



Article DOI



Citing this article:

Madrid, Alejandro L. "Carrillo (Trujillo), Julián (1875--1965)." The Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism. : Taylor and Francis, 2016. Date Accessed 2 Jun. 2023 doi:10.4324/9781135000356-REM1313-1

Copyright © 2016-2023 Routledge.